VMware Cloud Community
COS
Expert
Expert

Anyone ever try this.....Disk I/O Performance test on DL360 G6 with P410i w/1GB FBWC

OK, so I am always trying to tweak out as much performance out of my LAB DL360 G6 hosts as I can.

I have the hardware below...

DL360 G6

2x X5550 2.66GZ 8MB Cache

64GB PC3 10600

3 300GB SAS 6b/s in RAID 5

1 60GB SSD OCZ Vertex II SATA 2 (Max Read: 285 MB/s, Max Write: 275 MB/s)

2 Patriot Blaze 120GB in RAID 0 (555 MB/s read, 535 MB/s write) [I really didn't use these in the test]

I use SQLIO to do disk performance testing because I'm primarily a DBA.

Now, I built up the one host with just ESXi 5.5 U2 HP build.

I spun up a Win7 VM and ran the SQLIO test 3 different times and got the below results..

VM On Spindle and ESX on Spindle (This is my base lower control measurement):

IOPS: 1189, 1246, 1262 (Avg: 1232)

Transfer Rate MB/s: 74.3, 77.9, 78.9 (Avg: 77.0)

That's typical.

So, my servers do not have a CD/DVD but the motherboard has a SATA header on it. I'm guessing it's SATA 2 but if anyone knows what it really is let me know.

I figured, let's make use of it since it's there. So I bought a Slimline SATA Female to SATA Female ( 13 Pin SATA Female Slimline to 22 Pin SATA Female Cable Adapter 20 Inch | eBay  ) and plugged in my OCZ Vertex II to it.

I rebuilt my ESX host with just the SSD attached (not mounted as a datastore) and got the results below...

VM On Spindle and ESX on Spindle but attached (not mounted) SSD

IOPS: 1216, 1278, 1277 (Avg: 1257)

Transfer Rate MB/s: 76.0, 79.9, 79.8 (Avg: 78.5)

That's close enough to the first test to be no change in performance.

So next I installed ESX on the Single OCZ Vertex II SSD (that's connected to the SATA II port where the CD/DVD would normally be) but left the VM on the spindle LUN and I get the below results...

VM On Spindle and ESX on SSD

IOPS: 1338, 1365, 1369 (Avg: 1357)

Transfer Rate MB/s: 83.6, 85.3, 85.5 (Avg: 84.8)