VMware Cloud Community
gravetye
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

missing datasore

Guys go easy on me, I'm an Avaya UC engineer trying to learn some vmware skills, I've got my VCA-DCV6 and that's about my level at the moment!

I've built a home lab, ESXi 5.5 with a range of Windows and Avaya servers. This lab was going well, all the servers running, configured nicely even had handsets working, Then today its all gone wrong.

Essentially I can log into the ESXi host using vSphere however all my VM's are turned off, the status is Unknown (inaccessible). The ESXi error suggests I have no data-store configured. I have one 500GB SCSI HDD internal to my server. When I do a rescan on my datastores / devises nothing shows up, if I try to add a new datastore nothing shows up. Ive run some rudimentary cli commands to establish whats going on but my response back is there are not datastores / storage devices.

I've no idea what event has occurred, I cant see online anything that looks like this issue, some similar issues that I've tried to hijack the solution but have come up short.

I guess my question firstly, is there an easy fix to resolve this, and secondly if I use WinSCP or such like what directories can I grab that I can then restore onto a fresh ESXi deployment so as to recover my work?

I've spent a few months building this lab so Id be gutted to start again (although experience is the silver lining). Backing up was the next task on my list of areas to cover off but this occurred before I could complete the task!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Daniel

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
gravetye
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Tough crowd

Well for anyone starting out like me who finds themselves in this situation here is the fix that worked for me.

First check the integrity of your HDD, there are countless tools to do this, no doubt in built VMware tools but I booted from a CD and carried out the task that way. No issue with my HDD.