VMware Cloud Community
cbreuser
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vRO javascript to get VM power state

Hey,

Sorry i'm a little new to javascript and i'm trying to create a custom workflow, basically i have an action that gets all vms from a cluster, i then wanted to write a scriptable element to select the servers which are powered on an pass them as an output. I keep getting the error "cannot read property "powerState" from undefined. I have tried a few variations of code but below is the latest.

input = vmlist

output = vmpoweron

code

var vms = vmlist;

vmpoweron = (status.runtime.powerState.name == "poweredOn");

Thanks

Rich

0 Kudos
13 Replies
cbreuser
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

sorry there is a typo here, should read

var vms = vmlist;

vmpoweron = (vmlist.runtime.powerState.name == "poweredOn");

0 Kudos
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

Your action gets all the VMs for you and presents that as an array of vmObjects named vmlist correct?

To get the power status of the individual vm's you are going to need to for loop all the machines so it would like something like this...

var onVMs = new Array();

var vms = vmlist;

for each ( var vm in vmlist ){

if  (vm.runtime.powerState.name == "poweredOn"){onVMs.push(vm)}

}

This should get you an array of poweredOn VM's

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
cbreuser
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thank you for your reply sbeaver,

I am now trying to manipulate your code to power off the vm as passing the attribute to an action workflow doesnt do anything. I obviously doing something wrong as it seems to just ignore the script able task.

var onVMs = new Array();