VMware Cloud Community
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

vRA 7.5 HF9 to 7.6 HF9 upgrade or migrate?

I'm gearing up to either upgrade or migrate to 7.6 .  Aside from 6.x --> 7.x I've always upgraded.  Going from 7.5 to 7.6 via upgrade I'm assuming I'll still need to manually apply HF9 post upgrade.  So the way I see it I have the pain of the upgrade to 7.6 + the pain of applying the hotfix.  Both of these tasks have caused me a ton of grief in production so the thought is not super appealing.  The idea of building out a working 7.6 HF9 environment and migrating sounds like a cleaner way but also a lot of work building everything out from the ground up again.  We have a fully distributed environment which has had a lot of tweaking done over the years and it is all really stable when not trying to get through an upgrade.  Since I've not been migrating I have no experience on how clean or error prone/free the process is.  I find myself stuck square in the middle of which route to take.  I'm curious if others on here might share some opinions.  It would be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Hejahida82
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

A bit late in responding, however I've done several vRA 7.x to 7.6 upgrades recently covering embedded and external vRO instances. I've not seen a migration since the 6.x to 7.x days. You are correct in saying upgrade would be to 7.6 GA and then apply HF9 post upgrade.