VMware Communities
Yaztromo
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Anyone get OS/2 running under Fusion?

Hi Everyone:

Okay -- I know that it's not officially[/i] supported, but has anyone here been able to get OS/2 (any version) running under Fusion? The Wikipedia entry for OS/2 suggests that VMware still recognizes the guest parameter "os2experimental", and sure enough Fusion seems to accept this. I've found a forum posting elsewhere where someone claims to have it working under Fusion, but I can't get either WARP v4 or Warp Server for e-Business (v4.5) installed.

I'm mostly curious to find out if it's doable. I don't have any real need to do this, but I used to be an OS/2 software developer at IBM some years ago, and wanted to see it I could get it running purely for the "blast from the past" value, as opposed to any particular need.

Thanks in advance!

Yaz.

0 Kudos
16 Replies
stevedt281
Contributor
Contributor

I'm curious about this too. I used it extensively (and used to be an OS/2 groupie to some extent) starting with 2.1.

How far do you get? I can get to the second install floppy and it just freezes.

I'm using Warp 4 also. I can't find my old 2.1 CDs, but I'll keep looking.

0 Kudos
Yaztromo
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Interestingly enough, I've been able to get a basic WARP v4 install going under VMware Fusion.

I'm able to run the base OS, and it appears to be quite stable, but there are issues. I haven't been able to get sound working yet -- installing the SB16 drivers report an error at boot time. Video is[/i] working at resolutions higher then 640x480x16, but I had to install SciTech SNAP Graphics drivers in VESA mode.