VMware Cloud Community
yesint
Contributor
Contributor

How to access host filesystem?

Dear All,

I'm complete novice in vmware, so my question is probably quite stupid.

How can I access the host filesystem from the guest OS (I have Win2003 guest in Linux host)? I understand that I have to tell windows to use some shared network folder somehow, but I have no idea what exactly should I do.

Could somebody point me to some step-by-step instructions because I understand almost nothing in networking.

Thanks!

Semen

0 Kudos
6 Replies
VirtualNoitall
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hello,

It sounds like you are using a hosted product and not Vmware VI?

You can install samba on your linux server and create a share you can then access via your guest just like you would in a non-virtual world. You coudl also run an scp gui on your windows guest and use ssh to move files between it and your host. You have a couple of options but it is not really different then what you have available in the physical/non-VMware world.

Hope that helps!

0 Kudos
esiebert7625
Immortal
Immortal

You can't do this directly from the VM to the host, the host is isolated from the VM and the VM cannot see outside it's virtual disk on the host it's on. To see the host file system you would have have to use the network like you would do on physical servers. So with Linux you can map a drive with Samba. Below are the steps I documented for doing this on ESX (Redhat) to map to Windows. You can ignore the ESX firewall steps.

fyi..if you find this post helpful, please award points using the Helpful/Correct buttons...thanks