VMware Cloud Community
NNatic
Contributor
Contributor

Inaccesible Boot Device on Win 2000 Server. What can I do?

good morning!

i woke up this morning to an inaccessible boot device on an important VM server. I am very new to VM's and inherited the servers when an employee left the company.

Our environment is as follows:

Hardware/OS:

Dell 6650 running Linux (Fedora I think) (see edits) and VMWare 2.5.4 ESX.

The OS of the VM is Windows 2000 Server.

This is not a SAN setup.

Recent Activity:

i upgraded the VMWare software from 5.2.4 (see edits) to 2.5.4 yesterday morning. The VM ran great all day yesterday and last night i woke up to this. Not sure what caused the computer to restart (if anything did) as i cannot get into Windows to research.

Symptoms:

when i start the VM i get the BSOD with inaccessing boot device. As expected, this continues even in safe mode.

Can you please lead me into the right direction to bring this server back online. I really appreciate all you can do for me in this time of need.

*edits

VMWare version was 2.5.2 to 2.5.4 not 5.2.4

The Linux Fedora part appears to not be true. i misunderstood how VMware was to be setup. I thought you had to lay an OS before you installed VMware... that is showing to not be true.

We are running ESX Server

Message was edited by:

NNatic

Message was edited by:

NNatic

Message was edited by:

NNatic

0 Kudos
15 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

I am confused a bit here

Our environment is as follows:

Hardware/OS:

Dell 6650 running Linux (Fedora I think) and VMWare

The OS of the VM is Windows 2000 Server.

This is not a SAN setup.

2.5.4 ESX Right? Then there is no Fedora Core - ESX is the OS

Recent Activity:

i upgraded the VMWare software from 5.2.4 to 2.5.4

yesterday morning. The VM ran great all day

yesterday and last night i woke up to this. Not sure

what caused the computer to restart (if anything did)

as i cannot get into Windows to research.

5.2.4 to 2.5.4 - huh?

0 Kudos
NNatic