4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2007 2:12 PM by kreischl

Questions regarding Thin Clients and VDI

Gaprofitt Enthusiast

I have a couple of questions for you guys and gals.  I'm new to the thin client world but can see some benefits for our organization.  We are a manufacturing facility which operate machinery which punches holes in parts.  We have small computers mounted in this units which are constantly failing due to hard drives, power supplies etc.  These units have touchscreens and barcode scanners which the operators use.  Here are my questions.

1.)What does VDI offer compared to just connecting to a RDP session?  Couldn't I just build some Virtual machines in ESX running Windows XP and have the thin clients connect to these via RDP sessions.

2.)Does it matter if the local OS is Windows CE or Linux on the thinclient, if it supports RDP should that matter?  For example would the scanner i'm using need to be compatible with the Thin client OS or not because i'm connecting to a machine running XP?

3.)Which thin clients are good? Wyse, Neoware etc.  I'm currently waiting on some demo units.

We only have about 10-15 machines we need to do this on so I'm exploring replacing the machines with thin clients and I'm wondering if we really need VDI.

Thanks,

Greg

• 1. Re: Questions regarding Thin Clients and VDI
          paramd Enthusiast
          VMware Employees

1.)What does VDI offer compared to just connecting to a RDP session? Couldn't I just build some Virtual machines in ESX running Windows XP and have the thin clients connect to these via RDP sessions.

That \_is_ VDI. You can add a connection broker to make administration easier.

2.)Does it matter if the local OS is Windows CE or Linux on the thinclient, if it supports RDP should that matter? For example would the scanner i'm using need to be compatible with the Thin client OS or not because i'm connecting to a machine running XP?