VMware Cloud Community
BogdanPaul
Contributor
Contributor

vRealize Orchestrator 7.4.0 - Adding powershell host linux

Hi all,

I'm very new to vRO and I would need your help with a challenge i have.

Scenario is the following:

I'm trying to add a powershell host to vRealize Orchestrator (obviously, title Smiley Happy )

The app server runs o a linux machine (SLES 11 to be exact), powershell, windows.

I'm running these host type settings below and i think winRM set up on the powershell machine should be ok.

Unauthorized auth, basic auth, etc. I set that already. client and service

pastedImage_2.png

What i get when running the add host workflow is: "Unauthorized Access. Authentication mechanism requested by the client may not be supported by the server"

After several tries, my genius mind thought it could be because WinRM as only option for the remote host type and linux doesn't understand winRM

Before wasting time in wrong directions, could this be the case?

And if so, how should i set up the powershell host?

6 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

Yes, a remote PowerShell host implies a Windows system.

0 Kudos
BogdanPaul
Contributor
Contributor

thanks for the reply.

well, i though so too until a couple of hours ago, but then i found this How to Add a Linux Machine as PowerShell Host in vRO - VMware Blogs and i guess there is powershell for some linux distributions as well.

Although really cool article, does not help my issue. Adding a windows powershell host to a vRO running on linux.

As my only option is WinRM as host type (no SSH as in the article above), i will try installing the winRM python package for linux.

Did anyone had similar cases or experiences?

0 Kudos
carl1
Expert
Expert

OK, I think we are all confused out here (at least I am).  So vRO is on a linux system (of course, it is an appliance).  Where is your WinRM server?  Windows or Linux. 

If Windows, then vRO can work with it just fine. Most people do this all the time.