VMware Horizon Community
BiosMaster0x000
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VM not picking up client printer

Hello Team,

for some reason, I have a VM that is not picking up client printer, and I have run test on other VM's and they do pick up printers. I'm not sure what I'm missing.

I'm new to VSphere and Horizon client.. here is what I did already.

1: Try login into VM from multiple computers just to make sure it was not the client computer

2: Made sure that the printer drivers are installed correctly on the client computer

3: Made sure that the printer is also shared on the network on the client computer

Any help is appreciated thank you, team!

20 Replies
Lalegre
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hey BiosMaster0x000​,

I guess you posted in the wrong section.

However give us more details about the printers:

• How is this printer presented to the VMs?
  • What is the difference between the ones that are working and this one?
0 Kudos
nachogonzalez
Commander
Commander

Hey, hope you are doing fine

Are VMware tools and horizon agent up to date?
Which version of horizon view are you using?

If you use the printer shared by network, are you able to use it?

Have you checked this document?Configuring VMware Virtual Print Redirection

scott28tt​  Moderator: can you please move this thread into Horizon space?

0 Kudos
BiosMaster0x000
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Good day,

sorry not sure where I should have posted at.

However, usually, when a VM is connected to a work station it automatically connects clients' printer on the fly. however, I notice with this particular VM it doesn't

0 Kudos
Lalegre
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Could you please give us more insight about the configuration that you are applying? Are you configuring the printer as a Logon Task?

Are you using DEM for configuring this?

Are you applying GPOs?

Are the VMs all in the same network?

0 Kudos
BiosMaster0x000
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello Nacho,

TO answer your questions.