We have a really good VDI administrator, I will have them look at this thread to see if they can assist.
Enjoy the day!
It is best to change the auto-save location to either a mapped (personal) drive or a (personal) UNC path.
If a user loses his/her VDI session, auto-save info/files will not be lost, which however is the case when you leave the default auto-save locations, and the session is not properly logged off or the office application isn’t properly closed.
After changing the auto-save path(s) to network location(s) , you can exclude them from the DEM config files for Office.
Is this something you're doing in your environment? I didn't want to turn it off completely, because they're valuable as you said, in those unfortunate scenarios when power goes out, Office crashes etc. Changing the auto-save directory to the users home drive will likely be the best option for sure. I'm not sure if its something with DEM handing these files, preventing it from ever cleaning up the old stuff, since there were likely hundreds of files adding up to hundreds or MBs of data.
This is definitely something I use at various customers, and it works!
In your case I suspect a config file misconfiguration that allows the auto-save files/folders to be saved/restored. I advise to exclude those files/folders once you have implemented the relocation of auto-save files to a network based location, for example the home folder.