VMware Horizon Community
DublChen
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

What is the proper way to create a stable Outlook profile for floating desktops using DEM 9.11?

Hello Community,

As you can see from my title, I am struggling with getting the Outlook profile to stay put when using a floating desktop pool.  Right now I have DEM set to redirect the OST file to an AppVolumes writable volume.  First boot goes great.  When I log back into a fresh desktop after a recompose, it starts everything all over again.  The Outlook first time set up.  The Office first time set up.  Everything.  Not even my desktop profile and customizations are being set or saved using DEM. I am a beginner with using DEM (AppVolumes too), so any advice would be very much appreciated.  I've followed a couple of guides I found on the interwebs and still can't get it to perform as intended.

Horizon 7.12

AppVolumes 4

DEM 9.11

Thanks,

Dubl aka Keith

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Make sure when your installing office to install all components, as that should prevent this in a lot of cases. Also if you have office plugins in different appstacks, they should be installed with office. Also if your users are install plugins and are using a writeble, this is unavoidable. I really suggest if office is used by 80% or more of your users, just install it in the parent image. The reinstall generally isn't a profile issue, more of an appvolumes issues.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
nburton935
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Keith,

Do you also have DEM persisting the user's Outlook configuration?