VMware Communities
S_Chad_Gall
Contributor
Contributor

Blank console screen linux server

New to this....so please help!

I am trying to console to Linux server thru ESXi and all I get is a blank screen.  There is nowhere to login.  I can ssh to the server and the database is fine.  I'm not a linux expert, so any help is appreciated!!  ThankYou!

pastedImage_0.png

0 Kudos
8 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Make sure you click into the Window

then try

ALT + F1 , ALT + F2 ....
one of those combinations may give you another login shell

0 Kudos
S_Chad_Gall
Contributor
Contributor

That didn't do anything.  I tried in console app ad web console.

0 Kudos
rjcware2020
Contributor
Contributor

I have a Blank console screen as well.  I have tried several different things like adding a floppy disk that is not there, migrating the VM to 14.x, turning off the 3D option in the display, coping the VM onto the desktop machine again after stopping the old version and removing all its files, reinstalling Workstation Pro, and doing a repair to Workstation pro.  I have had success for one startup of the VM but not the second time.  The VM I have trouble with is a 12.x virtual machine.  I have a desktop unit and a laptop that both are running VMware workstation 14 Pro 14.1.7 build, with two independent licenses.  Both computers are running Window 10, 64-bit.  My laptop can run the virtual machine with no issues.  My desktop will run it once and then on the second power up of the VM it freezes with the black screen.

Other virtual machines are running on both systems without an issue.