VMware Cloud Community
OBTMOM
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

PowerCLI - need to filter datastore and exclude some names

Hello,

our datastore have a naming convention and i want to filter out only the local and backup stores.

Local Stores start with "A_"

Backup Stores with "C_"

We do have different cluster setups ones with 3 and another with more than 4 or 5 Datastores. So i wanted to set my action depending on how many datastores are in the cluster.

here is what i tried so far. and YES i am not a powercli pro at all (mea culpa

Count and comapre

$countlocaldatastore = (Get-Cluster -Name $cluster | Get-Datastore A*).count

$countnfsdatastore = (Get-Cluster -Name $cluster | Get-Datastore C*).count

$countalldatastores = $countlocaldatastore + $countnfsdatastore

if ($countalldatastores -gt 3) {echo "more than 3"}

if ($countalldatastores -le 3) {echo "less or equal than 3"}

This works do far but something dynamic would be much cooler and of course more flexible.

Found this later:

Get-Datastore -RelatedObject $cluster | where {$_.Name -notmatch "B_|D_"}

used it to sort the for freespace:

$mostfreespace = Get-Datastore -RelatedObject $cluster | where {$_.Name -match "A_|C_"} | Sort-Object -Property FreespaceGB -Descending:$true | Select-Object -First 1

$mostfreespace1 = Get-Datastore -RelatedObject $cluster | where {$_.Name -notmatch "B_|D_"} | Sort-Object -Property FreespaceGB -Descending:$true | Select-Object -First 1

$mostfreespace2 = Get-Datastore -RelatedObject $cluster | where {$_.Name -notmatch "B_|D_"} | Sort-Object -Property FreespaceGB -Descending:$true | Select-Object -First 2 | Select-Object -Skip 1

$mostfreespace3 = Get-Datastore -RelatedObject $cluster | where {$_.Name -notmatch "B_|D_"} | Sort-Object -Property FreespaceGB -Descending:$true | Select-Object -First 3 | Select-Object -Skip 2