VMware Cloud Community
TonyJK
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Automate VM Snapshot Creation and Deletion for apply Windows Update

Hi,

We are using vCenter 6.0 on a Windows Server.

My manager prefers to create VM snapshots before applying Windows Update. 

Just would like to know is there any script that can be used to meet this need ?

As I have no previous experience with CLI commands, would it be PowerCLI ?

May I ask how many snapshots  can be taken at the same time ?  Is there a limit ?  What is the bottleneck (ESXi Host or VMFS DataStore) ?

If we schedule to run the script (I believe it will be a Batch File), can it be scheduled task on the Windows Server running vCenter ?

Thanking you in anticipation.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

PowerCLI would definitely be a good candidate to automate this through a script.

The New-Snapshot cmdlet is what you would be using.

That cmdlet has the RunAsync switch, meaning you start the snapshot in the background, while your script continues.

How many snapshots you can take in parallel depends on your environment.

It's something that testing and experience should be able to tell you.

On the scheduling part, you can use a vCenter scheduled task or you can use the Windows Task Scheduler.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

12 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Moderator: Moved to PowerCLI

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

PowerCLI would definitely be a good candidate to automate this through a script.