VMware Cloud Community
Trainacomin
Contributor
Contributor

VMDK file stops mid move and quits

Hi,

I have  a situation where I need to move a vm from one datastore to another. I have a 72 GB file that I need to move.

I have tried to migrate, move and download in Vsphere web client. I also tried to log in to the node via winscp and ssh. Each time I try the move it moves a little more than 40 GB and stops. I have another 45GB file in the VM that moved with no problem.

I don't have a space issue.

We lost a controller last week and we are rebuilding our datastores and I need move all VMs off. This one will not move completely.

I am pretty new to the admin side of vmware but a guy I work with said there was a way to move any file but he didnt' tell me how before he left for 2 week vacation.

Any help would be appriciated!

Clint

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community.

Please tell us a something about your environment, i.e. whether you are managing the hosts via vCenter, and how (which edition) the hosts are licensed.

Also take look at the logfiles - e.g.vmkernel.log - to see whether it contains detials about the non-working copy (e.g. I/O issues)

André

0 Kudos
ashishsingh1508
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

This seems to be a network disrupt probably.

Does your ESXi host has access to both source and destination?

If Yes,

try

vmkfstools -i source.vmdk /vmfs/volumes/datastore/folder/destination.vmdk

Let me know how it goes, if this fail. Check vmkernel during that time

Ashish Singh VCP-6.5, VCP-NV 6, VCIX-6,VCIX-6.5, vCAP-DCV, vCAP-DCD
0 Kudos
Trainacomin
Contributor
Contributor

I'm using 6.5.0 Build 5318154.

Looking in the logs I don't anything but it might have flushed the logs since I did the move. I'll start the cp again and watch those logs.

0 Kudos
Trainacomin
Contributor
Contributor

I get

DiskLib_Check() failed for source disk Failed to lock the file.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership