VMware Communities
jaldoak
Contributor
Contributor

Workstation Player 15, VMWare Tools Install Error, Ubuntu Guest and Host

Context:

I'm relatively new to virtual machines, and need to use a pre-existing guest machine for a university project.  I received the guest machine via flash-drive.  OS' are Host - Ubuntu 16.04.5, Guest - Ubuntu 12.04.3.  I am using VMWare Workstation Player 15, which I downloaded from the site.  I have no other vmware products installed that I'm aware of.

I am trying to get vmware-tools working on the ubuntu guest.  I am currently unable create a shared folder (there is no error message, but no shared folder is appearing).  I am also unable to copy files from the guest to the host machine, although I can copy text onto the clip-board, and I can copy files from the host onto the guest.  From looking online, I believe the issue is vmware-tools not being installed properly.  When trying to update vmware-tools through the machine, I get an error message (below).

I also have two Windows installations of VMWare Workstation Player (one is 12, the other isn't on hand, but I think it's 14).  Both of these run copies of the same virtual machine.  I have no problems copy-pasting on either of them.

Error Message:

Error happens when using:

Toolbar -> Virtual Machine -> Update VMWare Tools.

First message is:

"Click Install to connect the VMware Tools installer CD to the virtual machine.  Mount the virtual CD drive in the guest, uncompress the installer, and then execute vmware-install.pl to install VMware Tools."

Click 'install'.  Then, error message reads:

"Unable to install VMware Tools. An error occurred while trying to access image file "/usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/linux.iso" needed to install VMware Tools: No such file or directory.  If your product shipped with the VMware Tools package, reinstall VMware Player, then try again to install the VMware Tools package in the virtual machine.

The VMware Tools image is inaccessible."