VMware Global Community
PepePeng
Contributor
Contributor

No traffic throughput after Firmware (bios-main-board) update

Hi - it's my first time here - so sorry for any mistakes :smileylaugh:

Baseline:

- System is ESXi with 6.5.0 Update 2 (Build 13635690)

- 3x Nics (1x onboard and 2x Intel I210-T1 GbE (id 1533))

The system war running fine for about half a year - but after a bios main-board update the two Intel nics stoped operation.

As you still can see, both nics (vmnic1 and vmnic2) looks good.

pastedImage_1.png

Each of this nics is part of a virtual switch (vSwitch0 is linked with vmnic0 and the management link - and works fine)

pastedImage_2.png

And finally the view on the port groups

pastedImage_3.png

PS: View with started (test)VMs

pastedImage_0.png

All VMs in port-group "VM Network" are working fine and are able to connect to the rest of the world.

When ever I link a VM to port-group "External Network" or "GasrNetz Network", the VMs can talk to each other within the port-group, but are unable to but any traffic via the nics (e.g. from port-group "External Network" to "GasrNetz Network" members). The link-state on the nic itself is fine - also the traffic led is flashing - but no throughput.

Things I did to solve the issue:

- Upgrade to the latest version

- I removed both Intel nics, reboot without the nics, build in the nics once again

- I deleted the port-group and configured a new one

There is not much to configure for the nics (and port-groups and VSwitches). So if there is a working way to delete these part and after a reboot ESXi belives there are two brand new nics - that's fine for me as well.

Update 1:

Maybe the view from test VM helps. As you can see, the test system is sending (trying to find someone) - but is not receiving "anything".

pastedImage_0.png

Also the view on the ESXi monitoring shows no traffic

pastedImage_1.png

Update 2: