VMware Cloud Community
shankm
Contributor
Contributor

Custom Request Form

Hi all,

I am somewhat new to vRA and have a requirement (not sure if it is even possible) to be able to select things like - template, network, software components to install on the request form.

I have seen some vRA custom properties which allow you to add values into software components and vRO work flows that allow you to choose templates, but have not been able to find a way to select which software components to install upon a request.

I have found this; How can I allow software components to be chosen on the request page in vRA 7?  Which is mroe vRA 6, I am hoping there is a clean way to do everything we require.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
8 Replies
jburen
Expert
Expert

Here is an example of customizing request forms: Customizing request forms using the new Custom Forms - VMware Cloud Management

Consider giving Kudos if you think my response helped you in any way.
0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

Yes, it's possible to do basically all of these (although not software components unless you're using a config management tool). You'll have to be more specific as to what you want.

0 Kudos
shankm
Contributor
Contributor

Essentially what has been requested is the ability to have a blueprint where any existing piece of software that can be installed through vRA/ vRO, network, template and datacenter to be an optional install, however not required.

Making the request form completely modular and up to the requestor to choose what bits and pieces they want.

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal