VMware Cloud Community
and_h
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie: VMWare Hypervisor to host transparent firewall

Hi everyone,

Sorry if this is a trivial question, but I am new to VMWare and still trying to get to know it a bit better.

I have a server with VMWare ESXi 6.5U2 (free Hypervisor) installed, which is connected to my internet router. Since this is a free license, I do not have vCenter available. Now, I would like to host a linux server as a virtual machine (web server etc.) that is protected by a transparent firewall setup (OPNsense or similar) placed as a virtual machine "before" the virtual host. Incomfing traffice would be routed to the ESXi host (port forwarding), through the transparent firewall and to the linux server.

However, I am at loss on how I can possibly configure the vSwitches in the ESXi Web Interface to allow for such a scenario. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Any help is appreciated!

Best,

Andreas

0 Kudos
3 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

you don't want to forward ingress traffic to the ESXi host, but to your virtual firewall in such a case.

One option to achieve your goal would be to use two vSwitches on the ESXi host. One of them as an internal-only vSwitch (no vmnics/uplinks connected).

Connect the Web-Server to the internal-only vSwitch, and the firewall VM (which needs two virtual network adapters) to both of them, the vSwitch with network access (WAN interface), and the internal-only vSwitch (DMZ/LAN interface).

André

0 Kudos
and_h
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks, that was really helpful!

Do I need to set the switches to promiscuous mode? If the firewall is really transparent, the traffic should be forwarded to the IP of the Linux server, right?

Also, I would like to have a third NIC in the firewall VM for management access. If I connect this third NIC to a separate switch, I cannot select an uplink (I only have on physical NIC). How do I connect this NIC to the network?