VMware Cloud Community
hughslh
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Deleting Snapshot

Hi Guys. I'm new to VSphere. I've just completed VMware vSphere Install, configure manage v6.7 training.

So here's my question. It turns out one of the admins created a snapshot a year ago of one of our servers. This server is critical to patient treatment. If I delete the snapshot is there a way to estimate how long the consolidation of data might take and what, if any, performance issue might occur?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Since you mentioned SSDs, I guess that you are using a 10gbps iSCSI connection, so the deletion should run pretty fast with the Unity as the storage system.. Even with a 1 gbps connection, it shouldn't take longer than the mentioned 3-4 hours.

Please consider to pause the Veeam backup job for this VM, to ensure it doesn't start while the deletion is in progress.

André

View solution in original post

12 Replies
MikeStoica
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

How big is the machine? Deleting the performance will affect VM performance during that period of time.

0 Kudos
HassanAlKak88
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hello,

It is recommended to delete old snapshots because the presence of redundant delta disks can adversely affect virtual machine performance.

The consolidation time depend on the size, performance of host (resources) and the storage IOPS.

Yes it is recommend to delete the snapshot after working hours due to some performance influence for this VM.

And check the following to work with snapshots:  Delete a Snapshot in the vSphere Web Client

Please consider marking this answer "CORRECT" or "Helpful" if you think your question have been answered correctly.

Cheers,

VCIX6-NV|VCP-NV|VCP-DC|

@KakHassan

linkedin.com/in/hassanalkak

If my reply was helpful, I kindly ask you to like it and mark it as a solution

Regards,
Hassan Alkak
0 Kudos
hughslh
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution