VMware Cloud Community
Tcpuniverse
Contributor
Contributor

Two ESXi hosts and LACP

Hi;

I'm studying vmware vSphere and want to establish LACP between two ESXi hosts and a single physical switch. I created a dvSwitch on vCenter and added both ESXi hosts to that dvSwitch. I also configured LAG on the dvSwitch and added one port on each ESXi host to the LAG. On the other hand, I configured LACP on switch and put it to active mode. There are no any other commands on the switch side with regards to the spanning-tree or vlans.

vm.jpg

I started with one port on each ESXi host (only vmnic2 on both hosts) , so the LAG will be consists of 2 physical ports totally. The problem is that one of the ports inside the LAG is active and the other one is suspended (for example, vmnic2 on esxi 1 is active, but vmnic2 on esxi 2 is in suspended state). When I disable the active port and enable the suspended one, this time the other one gets suspended. I read some chapters on the books, but got confusing comments.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
dbalcaraz
Expert
Expert

Hi,

Well, you don't need to set up LACP if you want to achieve failover or concurrent links capabilities. It seems that you have a vDS so you could use Load Based Teaming (LBT) instead of setting a LAG.

Anyway, if you want to continue, I would check this article which is quite nice: LACP Configuration in vSphere 6 – Virtual Reality

-------------------------------------------------------- "I greet each challenge with expectation"
0 Kudos
Tcpuniverse
Contributor
Contributor

Actually I also referred to that article beside other ones and followed the steps outlined there which are common. But at the end, I have a LAG with only one port active inside it. The Cisco switch displays the 2nd port as "suspended". I turned on debugs to see any possible errors, but got nothing regarding the reason behind this suspension.

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal