VMware Cloud Community
Lie_DW
Contributor
Contributor

Virtual Machine search - exclude SRM placeholders

Hi again!

Using vRA 7.4 and I'm a vRA/vRO noob Smiley Wink

I created a XaaS blueprint with an orchestrator workflow to create (and schedule) a snapshot of a machine, after an approval from our side.

Since it will be used by users who do not have the knowledge of vmware, I don't like the Tree selection.

I wanted to have a search box but the search box will give 2 entries for a machine, one for the real vm and one for the srm placeholder. You can't see the difference so if a user selects the srm placeholder, the workflow will fail.

I thought about a vro action where it would list all the VMs where the managedBy is not com.vmware.vcDr but a dropdown with 1000 machines is not a good solution.

Does anyone have an idea on how to do this? I have another workflow to reset the CBT (for our backup crew) and it's the same thing, a tree search. For them it will probably work but a search box with only 1 entry would be better.

I already got this piece of code but I'm not sure if i'm on the right track

var vms = VcPlugin.getAllVirtualMachines();
for each (var vm in vms) {

if (vm.name == vmName && vm.config.managedBy.extensionKey != "com.vmware.vcDr") {
    return vmName;
}
}

Thanks!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Lie_DW
Contributor
Contributor

So I found a solution, not sure if it's the right one but it works Smiley Happy

I get all datastores and exclude the datastores where the placeholders are located. Then I get all the VMs from those datastores:

var allVMs = new Array();
var AllDatastores = VcPlugin.getAllDatastores();
for(var i in AllDatastores)
{
if((AllDatastores[i].name).toLowerCase().indexOf("placeholder") < 0)
{
allVMs = allVMs.concat(System.getModule("com.vmware.library.vc.datastore").getAllVMsOfDatastore(AllDatastores[i]));
}

}

return allVMs.sort();