VMware Cloud Community
MykolaSverdel
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Setting up LAGs on multiple ESXi hosts

Hi All

I'm not an absolute newbie in vmware, however I have used only standard vSwitches and failover link configuration.

Now I'm trying deploy much more complicated configuration. I have installed 5 ESXi hosts (2 NICs each) and vCenter and configured Distributed Switch. After that i have moved my physical NICs to this one and configured 5 LACP LAG (2 NICs each). So, now I have 5 port groups, each of them includes vmkernel port of one of ESXi host and setted up for using corresponding LAG. My problem is misunderstanding how to setup virtual machines portgroups correctly. Now I can only set one LAG as active (no multiple LAGs supported) for every single portgroup. What will happen if I move VM to different host?

I have searched it via google and VMWare docs, but found nothing apropriate, so I will be grateful for any peace of advices or theoretical info or best practices references about this topic.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

There are several articles and blogs out there which can give you this idea, for example: LACP Configuration in vSphere 6 – Virtual Reality

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution