VMware Cloud Community
edisonso
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 6.5 - Spoofed packets detected using SR-IOV

I am new to ESXi and therefore may not be familiar with most of the VMWARE terminology. Please correct me if I am wrong because it is how I would learn.

Background

1. I installed ESXi 6.5 on a Dell PowerEdge R630 with a 2-port 82599EB 10G NIC.
  2. I installed two CentOS 7 VMs with DPDK.

SR-IOV Configuration

1. I am using SR-IOV on the NIC ports. On each of the VM, I created a new network adapter on the first VM as follows with one Virtual Function.
    1. Network Adapter 1: 10G port group 1
      • Adapter Type: SR-IOV passthrough
      • Physical function: 82599EB 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection - 0000:82:00.0
      • MAC Address: Automatic
      • Guest OS MTU Change: Disallow
  2. On top of the creation of the new adapter, I also reserved some memory as required by SR-IOV.
  3. I did the same on the second VM.
    1. Network Adapter 1: 10G port group 2
      • Adapter Type: SR-IOV passthrough
      • Physical function: 82599EB 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection - 0000:82:00.1
      • MAC Address: Automatic
      • Guest OS MTU Change: Disallow
  4. Of course, each 10G port group is linked to a standard virtual group which in turn is linked to a 82599EB 10G port (Uplink Port)

Traffic Generation

1. I have a PCAP file which has packets with different MAC addresses than the DPDK interface on the first VM.
  2. I generated a constant traffic from the first VM to the second VM using the PCAP file and none was received on the second VM.
  3. I sshed to the ESXI host and ran dmesg and got the following error messages repeatedly:

2018-05-04T23:39:00.679Z cpu31:66145)<4>ixgbe 0000:82:00.0: vmnic4: 512 Spoofed packets detected

1. I googled this error and somewhat have concluded that this error may have something to do with the MAC Spoofing feature on the 82599EB 10G NIC card. How do I disable it?