VMware Cloud Community
DaveKing43
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

move vcenter to another datastore

Hello, I tried to move the vCenter server to another datastore as the existing Datasotre needs to be decomissioned. I started the migrate and it seems to be moving along fine. I lost connectivity to vSphere, the only way I can connect is dorectly to one of the ESX servers. I can see th evcenter server but I now have 2 of them. One still showing on the old datastore and one on the new, but all optoipns are grayed out. The old Datastore server looks to nbe on, but only a blue screen. not sure how to fix. running vsphere 5.1. My gol is to decomission this old environment, but I am stiuk, any help woul dbe appreciated, I am new to VMware, not an expert.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Debashish_Rath
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Storage vMotion should be the correct option moving from one Datastore to another.

Sincerely, Debashish Kumar Rath SkyLine Support Moderator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Debashish_Rath
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Do you see the Blue Screen on the vCenter machine console ?

0 Kudos
Debashish_Rath
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

It will be better to restart the vCenter Machine or re-register back to the Inventory. 

0 Kudos
DaveKing43
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

The Blue screen was on the console, apparently it was trying to shut down, it finally has, now the second instance of the vcenter shows as Orphaned. I assume th eDatastore move failed. can you tell me th ebest way to move this to another Datastore, I initally left the server on and did a Migrate of the Datastore only, but it took over 8 hours and failed. not sure if this is the correct way to move. thanks for your help

0 Kudos
Debashish_Rath
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Storage vMotion should be the correct option moving from one Datastore to another.

0 Kudos
DaveKing43
Contributor