The VM itself lives on the local client. If the user goes offline the shared folder will not be accessible by the other user.
Now, if you are using offline folders on that share which is built into Windows then you will be prompted with a conflict dialog that will ask you to keep or overwrite.
thanks for your answer. Appreciated