1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2018 10:07 AM by bdamian

vRA 7.x - VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner

bdamian Hot Shot

Hi All,

How can I deploy a Blueprint for other users (on behalf is not an option because users has no entitlements for that) in vRealize Automation 7.x?

In vRA 6.x, I had users with no entitlement for services (they can't deploy VMs) and, as a Business Group Admin I can deploy a VM using the Custom Property "VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner" specifying a user, so the deployed VM appears in the user's Items Tab.

In vRA 7.x this doesn't work neither setting the property in the Deployment nor the Virtual Machine. The deployment and the Virtual Machine appears in the Admin's Items Tab rather than the User's.

Thanks a lot,

• 1. Re: vRA 7.x - VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner
          daphnissov Virtuoso
          vExpertCommunity Warriors

Hi Damián,

Can you explain what you're trying to achieve as the end result? When you say

on behalf is not an option because users has no entitlements for that

do you mean the end user has no access to vRA at all?

I'm trying to follow how you want this to work and what the options might be.

• 2. Re: vRA 7.x - VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner
            bdamian Hot Shot

In my scenario, users can only manage the VM power cycle, but they cannot deploy new VMs, so they don't have entitlements for blueprints. The Business Group Admin can deploy a VM but we need to change the owner to that user.

In vRA 6.x you can do this using "VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner" custom propery. But in vRA 7.x this property doesn't work and now we need to deploy and then execute "Change Owner" Action.

We'd like to keep doing this in a single call.

• 3. Re: vRA 7.x - VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner
              rmav01 Enthusiast