VMware Cloud Community
markotsg80
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Guest memory monitoring

Hello

I am new to VRops, trying to figure out the best way and metrics to monitor the guest memory please

some recommend this is best to be done from the guest itself using perfmon or resource monitor.

I am aware VRops can use End point agent on guests to get more accurate readings.

What metrics would you recommend?

I am trying to understand of using metrics for optimals VM RAM sizing.

Many thanks all

4 Replies
sxnxr
Commander
Commander

It all depends on the version of vrops, ESXi and VMware tools you are running.

If you are running

vROps 6.3 or later

VC 6.0 U1 or later

ESX/ESXi 6.0 U1 or later

VMware Tools from VMware ESX/ESXi 6.0 U1 or later installed in the VM

then you should get the in guest stats with out the need for the eops agent

then look for the guest|mem.needed_lates metric. this is what perf mon would report. One thing to remember is vrops collects every 5 mins and perf mon is real time so there may be a slight difference if comparing the two

If you are not running one of the above min requirements then you will need the eops agent but that introduces more complexities

0 Kudos
markotsg80
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Many thanks

Where would this be guest|mem.needed_lates metric located? I am not seeing it under All Metrics sections and under Memory

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal