VMware Cloud Community
milkies27
Contributor
Contributor

vRA custom validation issue

Hello Community,

I'm pretty new to vRA and vRA as well as scripting. I've been working on a custom validation for the user input.

Scenario:

•      When user input the value in the "Name" field, it'll triggered a workflow to send API call to an Appliance.
  •      If the value exist, it'll return value exist. Else, return empty string

Well, i build the workflow from vRO and tested it. The result as below:

• With a new record "abc", no error. - Passed
  • With an existing record "test", error prompted that the record "test" exist. - Passed
  • Switch back to a new record "def", no error. - Passed

Then I made an XaaS blueprint based on the mentioned workflow, and create the blueprint from the XaaS blueprint.

Perform the same test and got the result below:

• With a new record "abc", no error. - Passed
  • With an existing record "test", error prompted that the record "test" exist. - Passed
  • Switch back to a new record "def", error prompted that the record "test" exist. - Failed

This got me puzzled as i've no idea where to look at since the vRO workflow worked just fine. Can anyone shed some light?

4 Replies
parmarr
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Need more information:

Please provide the full error details.

Which version of vRA are you using.

Is this a new install or an upgrade from previous version.

Sincerely, Rahul Parmar VMware Support Moderator
0 Kudos
milkies27
Contributor
Contributor

HI parmarr,

To be specific, the validation is working properly. But what i need help on is to clear the stored value in the memory.

For the screenshot below, you can see the the previous validation for "test999" wasn't pass and when i input a valid value "abc123", the red box still remained together with the previous value aka error message.

pastedImage_2.png

Anyway, the vRA and vRO version is 7.3 at the moment, upgrade from 7.2 1-2 months back.

Thanks@

0 Kudos
daphnissov