VMware Cloud Community
jroeser114
Contributor
Contributor

vRealize Orchestrator self service portal for end users

I am new to Orchestrator so forgive the "rookie" question.  I know in earlier version of Orchestrator they had "weboperator" as a way to present workflows to end users.  I am currently on version 7.3  I would like to know if 7.3 offers something like this or if they have a built in web portal to present workflows to for end user assistance?  Or do you have to build the site yourself?  Looking for suggestions on how to give remote administrators access to items without giving them access in vSphere.  I dont want them in that environment but would like to give them options for spinning up VM's with a workflow.

Thoughts?

15 Replies
ericr999
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello,

From what I've learned the webview has been removed. In here we have developped our one Web Portal that connects to the REST Interface of VRO. Its not was perfect as it would be with VRA, but its good enough for the team for now.

And we have developped some workflows that help the users/admins to launch some specific workflows via the web portal we built. And we developped something(with the web portal) that we can easily create a new workflow and import its wfid into the web portal and make it available to the end users when we are ready.

So far we are happy with the result.

gkostova
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi,

Yes, you are right. The web operator has beed removed a long time ago. Do you use vRA in combination with vRO or just vSphere? In vRA you can use XAAS to execute vRO workflows through vRA requests.

0 Kudos
bhupathysav
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Eric,

Could share the documents or design for your self service portal. We are looking for the same but facing lot issue(REST and php) for setting up Please  your documents may help us to setup. 

Regards,

Mani.

ericr999
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi gkostova,