VMware Communities
drueter
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Workstation 12.5 Auto Suspend of Guests when Windows Host Shuts Down

I have created a work-around and will share here, because this is an important (essential) capability to have.

Background

Question:  How do I set up VMWare Workstation 12.5 (running on a Windows host) to automatically suspend all guest VM's when the host OS shuts down or restarts?

I have read several posts on this over the years:  I know they exist, but none are helpful.

Fact:  Windows 10 will automatically apply updates and restart the machine whenever it feels like it, with little ability for the user to control or disable this behavior.

I am a developer and business user, and use VMWare Workstation (NOT Server) so that I can have multiple VM's open for various interactive purposes:  different development environments, different applications, etc.

If Windows 10 chooses to apply an update in my absence (which it regularly does, without my ability to prevent this from happening), this essentially halts all the running VM's, causing loss of work and potential data corruption.  This is entirely unacceptable.

To be clear, this is not a matter of convenience (i.e. that I am lazy and don't want to suspend the gust VM's before I explicitly shutdown), but is rather that the host OS may spontaneously shutdown or restart without my control.  Thus random loss of work and data is an inherent and regularly-encountered aspect of running VMWare Workstation 12.5 on a Windows 10 host.  There must be a way to correct this problem.

Should be Automatic

According to:  VMware Workstation 12 Pro Release Notes a new feature of VMWare Workstation Pro 12 was:  "Automatically suspend virtual machines upon host shutdown".  But this does not seem to actually work / to be present, and I can find no menu options or documentation pertaining to this feature.

PItfalls