VMware Horizon Community
mrstorey303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Configure UEM to Auto Switch Display and Input Language On Windows 10

I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to UEM - looking for some guidance on how to achieve auto language switching in the following environment:

• Horizon 7.2
  • UEM 9.2
  • Windows 10 1607
  • Mandatory Profiles
  • Instant clone, floating pool

We have users from multiple language regions logging in to a single view pool, and I’d like to configure UEM to dynamically switch the keyboard, display language and regional settings to reflect their location - ideally by OU since our AD is structured by geographic location.

I guess to start with I’d need to install all the required language packs in to the master image, and update the existing mandatory profile to include these languages?  Then I’d configure a ‘Display Language’ config for each language using the user OU as a condition.  Is that right?

For the keyboard, I’d presumably need to create a keyboard config under the Personalization tab - but I’m not sure what settings I’d need to configure under ‘Predefined settings’ to ensure the keyboard automatically switched to the correct language (again based on user OU). 

I guess they’re just registry settings - but any idea what they are, or how I can find them out?  I tried the app profiler to try capture this, but it looks like this only works with executables?

As you can tell - I’m pretty new to UEM.  Any help or guidance would be really appreciated!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DEMdev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi mrstorey303​,

You're definitely on the right track! You do indeed need to install the language packs in the master image, but I don't think any changes to the mandatory profile are needed – that's where UEM comes in.