VMware Edu & Cert Community
pradeep541
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

is "vSphere 6.5 Foundation Exam" enough to complete both VCP6.5-DCV and VCP7-CMA certifications ???

I am new to vmware and I have completed vSphere 6.5 and vRA 7 trainings.

is "vSphere 6.5 Foundation Exam"  enough to complete both VCP6.5-DCV and VCP7-CMA certifications ??

or I should complete VCA6-DCV and VCA 6 – CMA before VCP6.5-DCV and VCP7-CMA.

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vijayrana968
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Yes, if you completed trainings then you need to VSphere 6 Foundations Exam or vSphere 6.5 Foundations Exam, one of them only for both of certification.

As per VMware site, only this exam is mandatory for both certifications you have mentioned.

In below KBs, please see :

Point 2 for required training (which you have completed)

Point 3 for required exam (Which you need to complete)

VMware Certified Professional 6.5 - Data Center Virtualization

VCP7-CMA Certification

View solution in original post

6 Replies
vijayrana968
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Yes, if you completed trainings then you need to VSphere 6 Foundations Exam or vSphere 6.5 Foundations Exam, one of them only for both of certification.

As per VMware site, only this exam is mandatory for both certifications you have mentioned.

In below KBs, please see :

Point 2 for required training (which you have completed)

Point 3 for required exam (Which you need to complete)

VMware Certified Professional 6.5 - Data Center Virtualization

VCP7-CMA Certification

MJMSRI
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

The Foundation exam is more broad in terms of subjects covered and does touch on many areas so is a good all round base to start however the VCP is much more specialized and you would need to do more training to consider passing the VCP6.5-DCV. Some good links are below that are useful for familiarizing yourself with the product aswell as the exam guide.

Cheers,

Mike

scott28tt