VMware Cloud Community
LuckyFabian
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Unable to Start VM in ESXi 6.5

Good day everyone,

I am totally new here and need help! I installed ESX 6.5i on my HP Microserver about a year ago and gave it to a friend of mine to put a VM of 2012 Server on it which he did and recently returned it to me.

I have a 250gb internal SSD and two 2TB mirrored external drives in two of the bays on seperate HBA controllers.

PLEASE forgive my problem description which may seem primitive by your understanding (as I am still very new to VMWare and ESX etc.)

The 2012 Server VM WAS working and then in the last week it would not start and would not show the SSD as mounted under the Configuration Tab in the VSphere Client.

The VM is italic and greyed out and I cannot start it.

The file and path name under the IP of the Vm Client is as I am sure you people are familiar with :

/vmfs/volumes/58b0c13e-7ae8ea6e-dcdf-d0bf9c45b55c/Windows_SVR_VM.vmx (inaccessible)

When I click on the VM file/pathname itself in the left hand pane and click on the Summary Tab and click the VM Hostname.

When I click the Resource Allocation Tab I get this Error :

An internal error occurred in the vSphere Client.

Details: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

On the Events Tab I get the description (as shown in scrnsht3.jpg) "Configuration file cannot be found" as an informational message

with the Description "Configuration file for /vmfs/volumes/58b0c13e-7ae8ea6e-dcdf-d0bf9c45b55c/Windows_SVR_VM.vmx on lucky1(host) in ha-datacenter cannot be found.

I am not 100% but I thought VM's themselves were .vmdk files and this .vmx file was on the SSD which I presume is needed to start the VM but I've copied it over to the datastore with the 2xraided disks as well last night.

I will attach screen shots, I hope somebody can help me get this working as I need 2012 to study for my exams...

Thanks and blessings in advance!