VMware Cloud Community
risingflight
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Update Manager

Hi

I am new to update manager, i was given few list of updates to be deployed.

for ex: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/2148168   http://kb.vmware.com/kb/2148155

Can anyone help me how to deploy the updates using update manager.

Do i need to move the host from the cluster or i can put in maintenance mode and deploy updates.

can i create a baseline with the list of updates i got.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jitu211003
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

In Tool upgrade, it will upgrade the tool then reboot but in hardware upgrade it will first shutdown the machine and then upgrade the hardware.

In production environment, it is not recommended to make it via baseline as VMs may have issue and if it happed then you may come in trouble as many VMs will go down.

However this process also takes the sanpshot before doing this but still not safer for a bulk of VMs.

VA upgrade is for VMware virtual appliances like VCSA, Vsphere replicator and many other things.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Stewaters
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Assuming your cluster can sustain the loss of a host, then you can just put it in maintenance mode.  No need to move the host out of the cluster.

I normally create a Baseline Group which contains all the Critical Host Patches and Non-Critical Host Patches as I apply all available patches.  Once you create the Baseline group, you attach the baseline to the host and then select Scan for Updates.  This will scan your host and tell you whether it is compliant or not and list the patches that need to be applied.