VMware Edu & Cert Community
TheSwitcher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Failed VCP6-DCV

I took the exam today and scored a 256.  The exam was much tougher than I thought it would be.  I wish that the exam score would show me percentages of where I scored high and low like the Cisco exams do.  I read the OCG a few times and learned what I could on our production environment.  I have yet to take the class because of budget restraints and will not be able to until July or later.  Probably will try again in a month.  I was at the point where I needed to sit in on the exam to see where I was at because I felt I studied as much as I could without really gauging myself.  I stated on another post that I have about a years worth of experience but in reality about 3 months as a vSphere administrator.  IAny suggestions on study material?

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TheSwitcher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Update:  I passed the 2V0-621 today!  Now I just have to sit in on the required course. Never reading any material on VCP, I feel that Mastering vSphere had real world scenario. I read through OCG twice and Mastering once. I can honestly say that they complemented each other one they each helped me understand what I was not grasping from the other book. I recommend them both. 

View solution in original post

10 Replies
TheSwitcher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

So I purchased Mastering VMware vSphere 6 and over half way through it.  I have rescheduled my second attempt for March 10th...now that I have sat in on the test I think I should be better prepared overall. 

0 Kudos
ScottDriver42
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

If you're looking for a book, I'd suggest getting the official VCP guide. I found Mastering to be very redundant with the previous versions, and it doesn't cover a lot of the new functionality specific to v6.

Blog: https://virtualvt.wordpress.com/ | Twitter: VTsnowboarder42
Leomhann
Contributor
Contributor