1 2 3 4 Previous Next 45 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2019 8:07 AM by banerian

    PowerGUI Gone - now what?

    TheVMinator Master

      I looked and it seems Dell has removed PowerGUI from their download page and I don't see it anywhere else.

       

      I needed that to be able to get a vsphere object, put it into the object inspector, and then drill down and figure out how to call the properties on something like a VM that are hidden deep in the extension data.

       

      What is the best tool to replace PowerGUI That allows me to do this?  Can't do it with the PowerShell ISE last I checked...

       

      Thanks!

        • 1. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
          LucD Guru
          Community WarriorsvExpertUser Moderators

          You can do it from the ISE, but it requires some additional installs.

           

          There is the popular Show-Object function from Lee Holmes's Windows PowerShell Cookbook.

           

          There is ISESteroids, an add-on to the ISE.

          But it comes at a price.

           

          The PowerShell Plus editor is another free option, it allows variable inspection and drill down.

          They had a new release in March 2016.

           

          And there is another commercial option, the editor in the Sapien PowerShell Suite also allows variable drill downs.

          • 2. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
            jpsider Hot Shot
            vExpert

            hhave you taken a look at VScode?

            1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
              AdamRushUK Enthusiast

              I'm currently trialling VS Code, but am struggling to get debugging working properly for PowerShell.

              Any tips?

              • 4. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                LucD Guru
                vExpertUser ModeratorsCommunity Warriors

                What issues do you get?

                • 5. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                  AdamRushUK Enthusiast

                  I used your helpful post here: http://www.lucd.info/2016/04/23/visual-studio-code-powercli/

                  but couldn't get Debugging working as expected, with variables and values etc showing.

                   

                  I'll set it all up from scratch as I'm not getting the following:

                   

                  Can not find a PowerCLI installation!

                  At C:\Users\adam.rush\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\Microsoft.VSCode_profile.ps1:64 char:9

                  +         Throw 'Can not find a PowerCLI installation!'

                  +         ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                      + CategoryInfo          : OperationStopped: (Can not find a PowerCLI installation!:String) [], RuntimeException

                      + FullyQualifiedErrorId : Can not find a PowerCLI installation!

                   

                  Not sure what I've done now!

                  • 6. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                    LucD Guru
                    User ModeratorsCommunity WarriorsvExpert

                    If you installed PowerCLI 6.5R1, note that is now in a different folder ($env:ProgramFiles\VMware\Infrastructure\PowerCLI).

                    Could be that your $env:PSModulePath doesn't contain the correct folder.

                    Did you reboot after the install of PowerCLI, it sometimes takes a reboot to get the module path correct.

                    • 7. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                      TheVMinator Master

                      Thanks all for the input.

                      • 8. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                        TheVMinator Master

                        To follow up I'm using the Sapien PowerShell tool which though expensive I like well so far.

                        • 9. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                          miguelvelezwhite Novice

                          I’ve been using Sapien PowerShell Studio (now 2016 version) for almost 3 years now.  You’re right, it is a bit pricey, but at the same time, it’s very powerful.  I’m having a bit of difficulty getting my VMware modules to properly show up in the tool.  I’m sure that it’s something that I’m doing incorrectly, but I just can’t seem to figure out what that might be.  I looked for a module directory similar to what is in PowerCLI or PowerShell, but I didn’t find one.

                           

                          If anyone can point me in the proper direction, I’d be most grateful.

                          • 10. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                            LucD Guru
                            vExpertUser ModeratorsCommunity Warriors

                            Which VMware modules are you referring to?

                            Are there modules that are not loaded when you do an Import-Module?

                            Are they in the $env:PSModulePath?

                            • 11. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                              miguelvelezwhite Novice

                              When I type that into my console from PowerShell Studio, I get the following:

                               

                              PS E:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2016> $env:PSModulePath                             

                              C:\Users\SE3.admin\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\Modules;C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules;C:\Windows\system

                              32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\110\Tools\PowerShell\Modules\;C:\Pro

                              gram Files\AppFabric 1.1 for Windows Server\PowershellModules;C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoIt3\AutoItX;C:\Program Fil

                              es (x86)\Cisco\Cisco UCS PowerTool\Modules\;C:\Program Files (x86)\NetApp\NetApp PowerShell Toolkit\Modules\.;C:\Pr

                              ogram Files\SharePoint Online Management Shell\;C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\;C:\Program Files (x86)\

                              Microsoft SDKs\Azure\PowerShell\ResourceManager\AzureResourceManager\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Azure\P

                              owerShell\ServiceManagement\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Azure\PowerShell\Storage\;C:\Program Files (x86)

                              \VMware\Infrastructure\PowerCLI\Modules                                                                            

                              PS E:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2016>                                               

                                                                                                                                                 

                               

                              I located the modules folder in PowerCLI and found this list (which is what I was looking for in PowerShell Studio:

                              PowerCLI Modules.png

                               

                              Due to lack of space on this particular server, my PowerShell Studio install is on the E: drive; however, PowerCLI and Windows PowerShell are installed on the C: drive.  I believe I may have further complicated things when I recently installed the PowerShell 6.0.0 alpha (also on E: drive). Regarding the modules, they appear to successfully import, but when I go to try and write up a script or put in a simple command like Connect-VIServer, the 'intellisense' doesn't show the command and when I try to run it, the errors come from all over the place. I know that this sounds horribly confusing and I'm definitely in over my head when it comes to configuring a tool like PowerShell Studio.  I'm trying to learn as I go and I'm making plenty of mistakes.  That's my punishment for being away from coding for so very long.  I've become addicted to PowerShell/PowerCLI because what little I do know has saved my butt many times when it comes to getting data from my vCenters (all 28 of them!!).  I'm trying to learn from you and your colleagues, but I'm trying to take shortcuts to get to what I need and it's causing problems as you can see. 

                               

                              Thank you in advance for any guidance that you can give me on how to clean all this up.

                              • 12. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                                LucD Guru
                                vExpertUser ModeratorsCommunity Warriors

                                The location where you installed PowerShell Studio shouldn't have any impact.

                                The $env:PSModulePath variable is an environment variable, nothing to do with PowerShell Studio.

                                 

                                As a quick test, do you also have the :""intellisense" problem when you use the PowerShell ISE?

                                Mind, it might take a while before intellisense is initialised, seen the number of modules you have in $env:PSMOdulePath.

                                • 13. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                                  miguelvelezwhite Novice

                                  Yes, that's where I'm noticing it - when I'm using the ISE.  If I just try typing the command in the console, once Enter is hit, I get:

                                   

                                  PowerShell

                                  Copyright (C) 2016 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

                                   

                                   

                                  PS E:\Program Files\PowerShell\6.0.0.14> Connect-VIServer VC-COR.FLOWERS.FOODS

                                  Connect-VIServer : The term 'Connect-VIServer' is not recognized as the name

                                  of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of

                                  the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try

                                  again.

                                  At line:1 char:1

                                  + Connect-VIServer VC-COR.FLOWERS.FOODS

                                  + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                                      + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (Connect-VIServer:String) [], Co

                                     mmandNotFoundException

                                      + FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException

                                   

                                   

                                  PS E:\Program Files\PowerShell\6.0.0.14>


                                  I see that the path is a hot mess.  I inherited that when I got this server.  I'm still working on what can be weeded out and what needs to stay.  I take it that there might be a connection.

                                  • 14. Re: PowerGUI Gone - now what?
                                    LucD Guru
                                    vExpertCommunity WarriorsUser Moderators

                                    The PowerCLI modules will not auto-load.

                                    You'll have to do from the prompt or in one the profile files.

                                     

                                    Get-Module -Name VMware* -ListAvailable | Import-Module

                                     

                                    1 2 3 4 Previous Next