VMware Cloud Community
ChrisKuhns
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Creating New vSphere Distributed Switch with LAGs and LACP

Does anyone know of a good resource for building the virtual switch with LACP LAGs? I have never done this before and I am kind of at a loss. I have an 8-Node All Flash cluster I am trying to bring to life properly but they changed the configuration on it and told me I was required to change the configuration to LACP.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Please refer to below resources:

1) LACP and ESXi‌‌‌

2) VMware KB 1004048‌‌

3) Create a vSphere Distributed Switch

3) LACP Support on a vSphere Distributed Switch

Was your question answered correctly? If so, please remember to mark your question as answered when you get the correct answer and award points to the person providing the answer. This helps others searching for a similar issue.

Cheers!

-Shivam

0 Kudos
zdickinson
Expert
Expert

Good morning, are the LAGs for the vSAN networking?  If so, I would go with traditional vSwitches for a cluster of 8 nodes.  We have found the complexity not to be worth it.  Thank you, Zach.

0 Kudos
ChrisKuhns
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for the response! It is for VSAN Networking. The Ready Nodes are already setup with LACP on the physical switch which is an HPE (Aruba) 5412R zl2. Would this be impacting it if they weren't configured on the VDS?

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Yes, there would be significant impact as you may face huge network packet drops which can cause unwanted issues. You should configure LACP on the VDS.