0 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2016 9:55 AM by timofcourse

Software demonstration environment management?

timofcourse Enthusiast

Hi all

I'm a Sales Engineer for a software development company and one of my responsibilities is to manage our software demonstration environments. I'm hoping to get a better idea as to how others in my position manage these types of environments and what solutions they use to do so.

Currently our setup consists of the following:

1. A "master" demo environment hosted in our data center (vSphere VMs). Only few have access to this as it's where we maintain the database used for demo's.
      2. Several "user" demo environments hosted in our data center (user specific vSphere VMs). Application code and databases are updated from the master environment on occasion. This is what our Solution Consultants (demo team) access as their primary demo environment.
      3. "Local" demo environments. This a copy of the user VM (VMDK's actually) run using VMware Workstation on their laptop. This is used as a backup demo env. in the rare scenario the demo person does not have internet access at the onsite demo. The User VM/VMDK's are only copied a few times a year (after a major application or framework update for example), but we have a homemade tool that allows the user to refresh the database from their hosted user environment before a demo (in case they've done a bunch of prep for a specific demo for example).

As you can probably gather, management of this environment is a bit of a pain - especially with a demo team of 20 individuals - and I know there has to be a better way to do this.