VMware Cloud Community
rnacif
Contributor
Contributor

vSphere 6 + vCenter 6 + VSAN 6. No DNS infrastructure. How much trouble am I?

Hello guys! I hope everybody is doing great!

So... A couple of months ago I deployed a new cluster (4 nodes) with vSphere v6, vCenter appliance v6 and VSAN v6. When I was doing the installation there was no DNS infrastructure in place and nobody had even decided which name space to use. So I used all IP addresses!

Fast forward to now I'm trying to correct this. But I think I screwed up big time. First thing I noticed is that vCenter appliance doesn't permit hostname changing (currently it's localhost.localdom). And now this environment is in production...

So... How much trouble am I? My main concern is that down the road this bites me back....

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,

Rafael - VMWare total noob

3 Replies
LucianoPatrão

Hi

This answer your question:

To change the IP address of the appliance, verify that the system name of the appliance is an FQDN. If, during the deployment of the appliance, you set an IP address as a system name, you cannot change the IP address after the deployment, because the system name is used as a primary network identifier. "

vSphere 6.0 Documentation Center

Luciano Patrão

VCP-DCV, VCAP-DCV Design 2023, VCP-Cloud 2023
vExpert vSAN, NSX, Cloud Provider, Veeam Vanguard
Solutions Architect - Tech Lead for VMware / Virtual Backups

rnacif
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Luciano!

Actually I'm not trying to change the IP address.. I just wanted to change the appliance hostname. The IP is going to be the same...

Thanks!

0 Kudos
LucianoPatrão

Hi Rafael,

Yes I understood, but I was more pointing in this direction: "...you set an IP address as a system name, you cannot change the IP address after the deployment"

So if you use the IP address for system name, is the same for changing the hostname.

Also here says: