VMware Cloud Community
Pat0182
Contributor
Contributor

2-node VSAN with local witness appliance setup and config help?

Good morning all,

This is my first build of a VSAN and I have the following sitting on my desk...

2 x HP DL380G9's running an Intel DCS3710 + 3 x 4TB HDD (all SATA) off of a P840 and 192GB RAM.

1 x ESXi compatible OEM build whitebox and driver supported ESXi host with 3 x 4TB HDD running off of an LSI9260 with 32GB RAM.

The goal is to setup a little lab with the 2 DL380 G9's as the workhorses and hosts of course, and the whitebox as the vcenter server appliance + a nested VSAN witness appliance (or physical vsan witness if need be).

The idea is to be able to enable HA on the VM's running on the 2 x DL380 G9's.

May main reason for posting are to ask the awesome members of the community here a few questions.

1) please let me know of any potential hiccups I may expect to see if anything of my initial design jumps out at you.

2) I really don't understand whether I need the vsan advanced or standard license as what I am trying to do is a 2(3) node cluster which will all be locally housed in the same rack, not the suggested stretched cluster ROBO config.

other things that come to mind are:

- will I be able to get away with L2, not L3 routing as I am not technically hosting the witness appliance in a remote branch office?

- if the config for a 2-node cluster like I have here would work with a vsphere essentials plus kit + required vsan licenses...

Thank you all in advance and I look forward to hearing any advice/discussion that ensues...

4 Replies
CrashTheGooner
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Dear Pat

Kindly note that VSAN requires minimum of one SSD in each of your HP servers
Also you will only be able to TURN ON vSAN if you have license for it .
You can apply any eval license like partner licenses etc should work fine.

Let us know what happens

If you find this or any other answer useful please mark the answer as correct or helpful. RGS