1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 9, 2015 2:07 PM by Stingray_City

Don't delete vmdks accidentaly if you are using ESXi 5.5 or 6

continuum Guru User Moderators vExpert

In the past I was able to help lots of folks that accidentaly deleted vmdks - in many cases they were recoverable with the help of vmfs-fuse.
      The chances for a recovery of an accidentaly deleted vmdk from a VMFS-volume that has been created with ESXi 5.5 and 6 have changed from "quite good" to "almost hopeless".

So if you plan to accidentaly delete vmdks with 5.5 or 6 make sure to use thick provisioned vmdks and create those vmdks while the VMFS-volume is still almost empty.

The latest versions do a much better job when deleting files as the previous versions before.

Watch out ...

Ulli

• 1. Re: Don't delete vmdks accidentaly if you are using ESXi 5.5 or 6
          Stingray_City Lurker

Sorry to Hi-Jack this Thread but I'm new to the vmware forums,

Unfortunately today I am one of those poor folks that deleted a vmdk from a VM using the edit settings option. This is what happened. I created a new hard disk using the edit settings option from Vpshere Client on the VM. The VM already had 2 Virtual hard disks and I decided to add a 3rd. I selected all defaults created the 3rd hard Disk and then at at a later point decided I wanted to free up disk space on my data store and decided to deleted the 3rd hard Disk on this VM. Once again I edited settings for the VM selected Hard Disk 3 and removed and deleted it from the datastore.