VMware Cloud Community
luckystarit
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

minimum hardware requirements for ESXi 5

Hi,

I'm a newbie to virtualization and ESXi so please help me on these issues:

I'm planning to host 1 Windows 2008 server and 1 Pfsense on the same host using ESXi. Both servers on serve a small number of users ( less than 10). The Win2k8 will just run small a .NET app and the Pfsense will just act as a router/gateway for web portal (no VPN, nothing fancy here).

I have checked the VMWare ESXi minimum requirements here (VMware KB: Minimum system requirements for installing ESXi/ESX) but still unsure before buying new equipment to run ESXi because the specs says ESXi only runs on 64 bits x86 CPU.

I'm looking at this PC :

CPU: Intel® Celeron® Processor 1037U (2M Cache, 1.80 GHz)

RAM: 8G RAM Support DDR3 2G/4G/8G/16G laptop memory, DDR3 1333/1600MHz

Storage: 64G SSD

Will ESXi install OK on this system ?

thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cykVM
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi,

from Intel's specs for the CPU http://ark.intel.com/products/71995/Intel-Celeron-Processor-1037U-2M-Cache-1_80-GHz this should generally work, but might cause performance issues as this Celeron has only 2 cores.

Another thing to consider is RAM, ESXi 5.5 OS takes about 4GB RAM out of the 8GB leaving you 4GB for the VMs. Windows 2008 with less than 4GB wil be pretty slow and sooner or later start swapping to disk.

Also the motherboard in use is something to check with HCL as at least the storage controller and the onboard NIC(s) should be compatible.

The easier road to go is to get server-level hardware which is listed in HCL, you may find refurbished/used systems being fully compatible. This would be much more reliable than building a whitebox system on desktop hardware.

cykVM

View solution in original post

5 Replies
cykVM
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi,