VMware Cloud Community
schmitgregwav
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Using ESXi 5.5 with HP DL120 Gen9 Storage Controller (HP H240 FIO Smart Host Bus Adapter)

Hi guys, I am new to virtualization but I couldn't find a solution for this. Feel free to correct my wording as I am not incredibly experienced with this sort of thing.

Background: I have a couple servers and the end-game will be to use lefthand to create a SAN and run other systems within this SAN (providing network-level RAID). While in a data center I might decide to do a hardware-level RAID in addition to network-level RAID, right now I want to save money on storage for this testing so I want to do simple spanned disks (non-raid/JBOD) on the hardware level. Due to the OS we are going to virtualize later we need to use ESXi 5.5, not 6.0.

I actually had a small supermicro server that I've already installed ESXi 5.5 onto that doesn't have a whole lot of storage which will be the 3rd voting member in lefthand.

So I setup the 2 servers (HP ProLiant DL120 Gen9 E5-2630v3 8GB-R H240 8SFF 550W PS Entry Server(777425-B21)) and I went into the BIOS/CMOS settings and switched to the AHCI mode from the smart-array mode (I can't remember the wording of it, I'm not in front of the machine currently). I then went into the intelligent provisioning and went to the smart storage administrator part and I had to select "turn off RAID", or something like that. After rebooting I went back in and now my two disks show up as "unassigned" which seemed sensible to me. I tried to see if I could "assign" them but in the non-RAID mode there is no way to assign them to anything because arrays essentially don't exist in the non-RAID mode. I wasn't sure if there is a way to "initialize" them or something like that, but I couldn't find any settings like this. My hope was that an OS would now see these drives natively as simple drives without the abstraction layer of a storage controller.