Is there any way to do this for all users? We have a wide group of users who will be using vROPs, most of whom just need the 1 or 2 dashboards that will be shared with them directly. Thanks!
Yes you can hide every dashboard from "Home". In your case I would remove all dashboards from "Home" and then create a user group under "Access Control" in the Administration section.
Once you have created the Group you can assign specific dashboards to the group.
Under "Content" administration choose "Dashboards" in the left pane. Click on the "Gear" icon in the right pane and choose "Share Dashboards". Here you should see the "Group" name on the left and the dashboards in the right pane.
(see screenshot 1)
Choose a Dashboard in the "right" pane and assign it to any group. You highlight the dashboard and "drag it" to the specific group.
In the screenshot you can see that I have assigned several dashboards to groups. (Special 1, Everyone 3 etc.)
When you want to remove a dashboard from the group then highlight the dashboard and click on the icon highlighted in "yellow" in screenshot 2.
When you click on any group in the left pane it will show you the dashboards assigned. (second screenshot)
Assign dashboards to groups by dragging the dashboards on the left to the groups in right pane.
Click on a group in the left pane to see which dashboards have been assigned to the group.
By default dashboards named Recommendations, Diagnose and Self Health are not shared. All users view these dashboards when they log in.
Unfortunately these dashboards will always show in the "Dashboard List" for every user. The user itself can hide the Dashboard by clicking on "Actions" --> "Remove Dashboard from Menu"
This will only remove it from the menu but not from the "Dashboard List" drop down menu.
Hope this helps.
Thanks for the follow-up.
Diagnose, Recommendation and Self Health are OOTB dashboards which are created for each user at their sign in to the system and they are not shared ones.
To remove them All.json fle should be removed from $Alive_base/tomcat-web-app/webapps/ui/dashboards/ootb folder. Notice that the file removal will not affect the dashboards presence for the users who already signed in to the system before that file was deleted.
For those users who already have those dashboards you can use ops-cli from /usr/lib/vmware-vcops/tools/opscli
Great to know. I will go ahead and test this out.