VMware Cloud Community
Brixguy
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to get Exsi 5.5 to install in Gigabyte Brix GB-BXi7-4500

Hello all,

I have been attempting to put Exsi 5.5 on a gigabyte brix mini barebones PC for use as a home lab for testing and troubleshooting some VMs my company develops. I work in tech support for Extreme Networks (Enterasys side) and would like to get this running as a resource to use to better my ability to perform work tasks.

I have some background experience in PCs, enough to put one together running windows, but windows is quite a breeze compared to this system. Mostly my background is networking and authentication, very little unix and linux.

I have been mucking around sites on the internet and am (I think) very close to getting this system to work. However I have come across a hurdle that has me stumped.

The GB-BXi7-4500 has some unsupported hardware that I have been able to side step through some custom image splicing using the exsi vsphere CLI.

I currently have the 5.5.0 build 1331820 with spliced driver packages for  net-r8168, net-r8169, net-s2io, and net-sky2. I have also spliced in another offline bundle that included additional mappings for my SATA controller and setting the software acceptance level to community supported.

The following 2 sites describe the process I have taken to make the images:

http://www.twistedethics.com/2013/09/23/installing-vmware-esxi-5-5-on-the-gigabyte-brix/

http://www.v-front.de/2013/11/how-to-make-your-unsupported-sata-ahci.html

Currently I am at the point where I boot the installer image from an external DVD driver, and the driver packages look to open normally. However, whenever I boot from DVD and Exsi gets to the point where the popup to install Exsi to the local disk SHOULD pop up, a very very brief window appears and then disappears before I can read it and I'm in the Exsi operating system.