0 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2013 11:54 AM by icbitdept

    SRM - Remove Synchronization when performing Disaster Recovery Production Test

    icbitdept Lurker

      Consider the following scenario:

      Production Site contains the following:

      HP SAN P4500G2 for Storage System (v9.5)

      A couple of ESX v5.1

      VM's acting as several mission critical servers.

      Colo Site contains the following:

      HP SAN P4500G2 for Storage System (v9.5)

      A couple of ESX v5.1

      SRM Placeholders for mission critical servers on production.

       

      What is being done: A replication of Production SAN is being done at a set schedule (based on specifics criterias, like bandwitdth, priority, etc) to the COLO SAN using remote snapshots of the mission critical servers.

       

      In a Disaster Recovery Test,

      We would like to Turn off Production VM's and turn on COLO's VM using the remote snapshot already created in the COLO SAN.

      Currently, SRM does a step where it "scyncronices" the Production SAN Volume to the COLO SAN. This step is nice if you want to replicate the most recent changes, but not really needed if you already replicate and assume the risk based on your replication schedules.

       

      So, the feature enhancement is to allow us to fully custumize the steps taken when doing a Disaster Recovery, so that we are able to turn off(delete) the Scyncronisation step, because is not needed(and it is time consuming). (And, I'm going to assume we must then be able to assign which Snapshot to look at when moving to the DR SAN)

       

      Not sure if anyone else has found a workaround this issue. Please let me know if you have.