VMware Horizon Community
SGadz
Contributor
Contributor

USB Redirection is not available

Hello,

I am new to VMWare communities and Vmware as well, I am currently evaluating Vmware. I have setup ESX 5.1 with VSphere Vcenter and View administrator. I am having issues with the USB redirection on the client machine when using Vmware view Client, I get "USB redirection is not available" in View Client under "Connect USB device" menu option. Everything works fine in VSphere client, I am able to redirect my USB devices to virtual desktop. I have enabled USB access in View administrator group policies for the Pool. I have made sure that I have installed USB recirection when installing agent and as well as view client. I am running out of options and any help is greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance...

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

What version of view are you running?

Did you open port 3211 to the vDesktop?

// Linjo

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
SGadz
Contributor
Contributor

It has to do with the network configuration of the virtual desktops. My virtual desktops are in a separate domain and the client is connecting from a different domain. Testing with a ping - the client view can see the virtual desktop, but the virtual desktop cannot see the client desktop. So I will have to create a tunnel connection via connection server to make this work.

To rule out any other issue, I have tested this by adding a new network adapter to virtual desktop and making sure I am able to ping back to the client from the virtual desktop. After I did this, the client view listed all the USB devices. So, I will now have to setup the tunnel on the connection server.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
monopohl
Contributor
Contributor