VMware Horizon Community
sphbecker
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

View Client as Login UI

My background is not in programing so I don’t know how feasible this is.  It is possible for a 3rd party program to replace the Windows Ctrl-Alt-Del login screen UI.  The 3rd party executable adds additional functionality to the login screen.  Most notably Novell did this to allow users to authenticate their Novell credentials before logging into Windows.

Why can’t VMware provide an optional View client replacement for the Windows logon UI?  The user presses Ctrl-Alt-Del and is given the option to login locally or into their View desktop.  They choose View desktop and login as normal.  The cool thing is that the entire client experience would happen without a local profile being loaded.  No worrying about local screensaver policies, using the local computer by mistake, having to unlock two different sessions, it would all happen from the login UI.  It seems to me this would be the ultimate dual purpose client, a full local desktop when needed, the simplicity of a thin-client otherwise.

10 Replies
ForgeFlakshack
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You can get the experience you describe without having to replace the Windows login.  One of the advantages of the Windows CTRL-ALT-DEL login is that it ensures that you are not typing your password into a fake login screen.  If you're talking about the Win 9x Netware clients, the main difference is that they didn't support this basic security feature.

This is possible with the current software: 

• Computer starts up running lightweight Windows ThinPC. 
  • User presses Ctrl-Alt-Del and logs in their domain credentials. 
  • Roaming profile is not downloaded, only a local profile is used (configured with loopback processing and doesn't copy back to the network). 
  • Local profiles older than XX days are automatically removed so the local disk space is wasted.